helpmetohelp.blogg.se

This is a blog for my senior project at Basha High in Arizona. I'm going to do volunteer work and write about it here on my blog.

Volunteer day with I-HELP

Publicerad 2013-03-14 21:03:00 i Allmänt,

I-HELP is an organisaion that provides food and shelter for homeless. This group that I was volunteer working with is a new one and they try to figure out how everything will work out with how many people that will come every other sunday and how much they should cook.

The people I was working with.
I've had two volunteer opportunities with I-HELP. The first time we had 16 homeless people that came in for food and shelter for the night. What I did was cleaning the tables, preparing lunch packages and putting things forward and serve the guests for dinner. This day we provided them with Chili, corn muffins, salad and pie. We got to sit down and talk to people and hear their stories. I met a man who'd been a commander in the Navy in Germany, he was very eager to tell his story and we also talked to two other women. Unfortunately, they didn't want me to take any pictures with them but I learned a great deal. After the dinner, we put out things they could bring for lunch the next day. They were also provided with showers and hygiene products.

Packing and preparing
This is how their lunch could look like
Dinner!
 
The other volunteer opportunity I had with this very nice group of people, we served the guests with pasta and meatballs + sauce, garlic bread, salad and cake. Unfortunately we only had two guests and no one to stay with them over night (like I said, it's a new group that have to figure some things out). We also provided them with lunch for the next day.
Labeling
Dinner
Cake! 

 

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här
Publiceras ej

Kategorier

Arkiv

Prenumerera och dela